Five Important Compositions of Florent Schmitt to be featured in Concert in Spring 2015 by Orchestras in Berlin, Buffalo, Cleveland, Metz and Tokyo

Bachtrack logoThe Bachtrack website has just completed uploading its global database of programs for the upcoming concert season.

Although it isn’t an exhaustive listing of every orchestral group, the site covers nearly all of the major orchestras and other ensembles around the world, making it a good “one-stop” resource for information about what’s happening on the concert calendar.

The 2014/15 concert season features five key compositions by Florent Schmitt which will be performed by four top-notch orchestras in Berlin, Buffalo, Cleveland, Metz and Tokyo, conducted by Lionel Bringuier, JoAnn Falletta, Marek Janowski, Jacques Mercier and Tomoya Nakahara  Details are as follows:

January 31, 2015

Schmitt: La Tragédie de Salomé, Op. 50  (1907 – Original Version)

Hasegawa: Melodien von Anonymous

Weill: Concerto for Violin and Wind Ensemble, Op. 12

Sinfonietta Shizuoka (Tokyo), Tomoya Nakahara, conductor

Haruka Nagao, violin


Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra logoFebruary 21, 2015

Schmitt: Le Palais hanté, Op. 49 (The Haunted Palace) (1904)

Dukas: L’Apprenti sorcier

Dvorak: Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104

Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta, conductor

Amit Peled, cello


Berline Radio Symphony Orchestra logoMarch 1, 2015

Schmitt: Psaume XLVII, Op. 38  (Psalm 47) (1904)

Ravel: Shéhérazade

Scriabin: Symphony #4, Op. 54 (Le poème de l’extase)

Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra & Chorus. Marek Janowski, conductor

Jacquelyn Wagner, soprano


Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra logo 2March 7, 2015

Schmitt: Antoine et Cléopâtre:  Suites #1 & #2, Op. 69 (Antony & Cleopatra)  (1920)

Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F Major

Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta, conductor

Alain Lefèvre, pianist


Orchestre National de Lorraine logoApril 3 (Thaon-les-Vosges) & April 4 (Metz), 2015

Schmitt:  Le petit elfe Ferme-l’oeil, Op. 73 (1912/23)

Beethoven: Concerto in D Major for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 61

Orchestre National de Lorraine, Jacques Mercier, conductor

Dana Luccock, mezzo-soprano

Tedi Papavrami, violinist


Cleveland Orchestra logoApril 16, 2015

Schmitt: La Tragédie de Salomé, Op. 50 (The Tragedy of Salome)  (1907/10)

Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin + Boléro

Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33

Cleveland Orchestra, Lionel Bringuier, conductor

Gautier Capuçon, cellist


More information on these four concerts can be found here on the Bachtrack site, or on the web pages of the three orchestras (links are above).

Leave a Reply